- 2/17/2020, 6:30 PM – 9:30 PM
This course highlights the basic knowledge and skills necessary for individuals who wish to obtain state or national certification as an Emergency Medical Technician and adheres to the National EMS Education Standards which are based on the National EMS Core Content and the National EMS Scope of Practice that define the minimal entry-level educational competencies for each level of EMS training.
The course consists of 176 hours of classroom time that includes hands-on skills training sessions. The student is also required to complete two, 12-hour shift in the prehospital setting where they will ride-along with an ambulance crew and one 12 hour shift in the Emergency Department where they will follow and assist the ED staff. Students who successfully complete this program are eligible to take the National Registry of EMTs cognitive exam which is a computer adaptive test (CAT), as well as the National Registry of EMTs.
Requirements for the EMT Program
- High School Diploma/Equivalent
- Valid Government Issued Identification Card
- Nothing in personal criminal background preventing work as a medical professional. You can do a preliminary check of yourself at www.courts.mo.gov/casenet. DO NOT APPLY IF YOU HAVE ANY OF THE FOLLOWING CONVICTION OR OPEN CASES:
- Felony convictions of any type
- Felony or misdemeanors involving use of a dangerous weapon
- Abuse of children, the infirm or elderly
- Property crimes including theft, robbery, or burglary.
- Sexual abuse or assault
Registration Fee: $150 (non-refundable)
This fee registers the student for the orientation meeting at which time the background check and drug screening will be administered. All required documents MUST be received by mail, email. or uploaded to registration site BEFORE the orientation meeting, no exceptions. Each registrant will receive an email with instructions on how to submit the required documentation after registering.
Required documents include:
- Completed EMT application
- Insurance Waiver
- Birth Certificate (copy)
- High School Diploma (copy)
- Government Issued ID (copy)
- Immunization Record with Flu Shot (copy)
- Health Insurance Card (copy)
Course Cost: $1050 Payment must be received before the 1st night of class in order to attend classes. Payments WILL NOT be taken by the instructor in class. All payments must be made to the LCTC office. Credit/debit cards can be taken online or by phone. Checks can be delivered to the office in person or by mail. Call 573-346-9271 for information about a payment plan.
Included in Course Cost
- Drug Test
- BLS CPR Training & Certification
- My Clinical Exchange (online site required for clinical time)
- ID Badge
- Textbook $150
- NIEMT Testing Fees $90
- NREMT Testing Fees $90
- Clinical Polos
- Background Check (clinical)
- Professional Liability Insurance
NOT Included in Course Cost
- Physical $20 (depending on your provider)
- Uniform (pants, boots, belt) $150-$300
Financial assistance may be available through Missouri Ozarks Community Action (MOCA) for those who qualify. Please contact MOCA at http://www.mocaonline.org to see if you qualify. Payment of the registration fee and a payment plan are required until formal notice is received from MOCA that you have been approved for financial assistance. All applicable fees and registration fees paid by the student minus processing fees will be refunded once payment is received from MOCA.
Accredited through the Missouri Bureau of EMS 02912T1.
Students who meet all the class requirements listed above and attended this enrollment information meeting on 01/22/2020 are eligible to enroll in the flipped EMT class starting on 01/27/2020 and ending on 05/20/2020. If less than 13 students are eligible to begin the EMT program, the start date will be delayed until 13 students are eligible.
Payment of class tuition must be made in order to enroll and begin attending classes.
Refunds are processed according to the date the refund request was received in writing by LCTC from the student. Requests received prior to the class start date are refunded 75% of the tuition. Requests received on the start date up to 2 weeks after the start date are refunded 50% of the tuition. No refunds will be given after the first day of the 3rd week of class. All course materials shall be returned by the student in good working order and able to be issued to another student. The cost of damaged or materials not returned will be deducted from any eligible refund amount.